Converting a WordPress Site from Network to Single

Creating a network of sites on wordpress enables you to create different sites with different content but still under the same domain.

For example, you would be able to create 5 different sites like:

  • allaboutguitars.yourDN.com
  • allaboutflowers.yourDN.com
  • mypersonalblog.yourDN.com
  • partyphotos.yourDN.com
  • poetry.yourDN.com

They would each have their own content, the items in the Recently Blogged menu would be independent of other websites.

Step by step instructions can be read on the wordpress tutorial here.

This is what I did, which worked good, but the problem was that I had already started the site under the something.myDN.com, but I wanted have my domains as shown above. The problem with already creating it under the something sub-domain, was that the other networked domains part of the same WordPress install, would now be made like: newPage2.something.myDN.com, which I didn’t want. I wanted

  • something1.myDN.com
  • something2.myDN.com
  • something3.myDN.com

etc.

What I should have done was install WordPress as www.myDN.com, and then worked from there, but it was already to late.

That’s the long of it.

To de-activate this feature, all that was required was to go back into the wp-config.php file and comment out the following lines at the bottom I had previously added in the above mentioned tutorial as follows:

/*
define(‘WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE’, true);

define( ‘MULTISITE’, true );
define( ‘SUBDOMAIN_INSTALL’, true );
$base = ‘/’;
define( ‘DOMAIN_CURRENT_SITE’, ‘something.myDN.com’ );
define( ‘PATH_CURRENT_SITE’, ‘/’ );
define( ‘SITE_ID_CURRENT_SITE’, 1 );
define( ‘BLOG_ID_CURRENT_SITE’, 1 );
*/

After doing this, I also reverted back to the original .htaccess file I had created, and removed the wildcard domain entry in my URL forwarder (DNS).

It should be noted that one should have saved a backup of the wp-config.php and the .htaccess file created so simply doing some fancy renaming to get those backup files restored should also allow you to revert back to the pre-network setup.

Leave a Reply

5 × three =